This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Quality of Rental vehicle

Explore video interviews
Update by user Oct 18, 2021

Frustrating

Original review posted by user Oct 18, 2021
Dear Dollar: re: Rental 316798**** Burbank Airport, Oct. 15-17, 2021 Before I detail my concern(s), let me state that I am aware of the shortage of available rental cars and consider myself to be understanding of the current constraints on your service. Second, I would like to applaud compassion provided by the Dollar representative "Rip" at the Burbank Airport facility. After an extended (but understandable) delay my wife, mother-in-law and I were provided with a Rental Vehicle that did not meet our expectations or accepted standards for safety. Not only was it under-powered, it was too small and it rattled like an little red wagon. NOTE: The solo driver in front of us received a mid-size SUV. My wife had reserved (and paid in advance) for a mid-sized vehicle for our weekend in SoCal to attend a wedding. The 2020 Chevrolet Spark was not mid-size. It was a shoebox. It was also a hazard on the freeway, and a literally a deathtrap in the high winds that swept the Santa Clarita Valley. The car did not have enough room in the trunk for two medium-sized suitcases. Driving back to the airport on Sunday my wife was forced to pump the brakes in order not to rear-end the big trucks only a few yards in front of us in stop-and-go traffic. She described the brakes as "soft." It took some long anxious minutes for the car to get up to normal highway speeds, let alone keep up with traffic on Southern California freeways. The car barely made it up on-ramps that were slightly uphill. My request/recommendation is that this model be pulled from the fleet or limited to residential neighborhoods with speed limits of 25mph. NOTE: We are three normal-sized adults that are not large and do not have issues with our weight. I sincerely believe my decision to detail our concerns in letter form is better than having a Dollar executive of issue a letter of condolence. Thank you for taking the time and providing a method for me to air my concerns. Relieved to be home, Dan Aznoff da@***.com 425-417-****
View full review
1 comment
#2170984

Awful

Featured
ID
#2984353 Review #2984353 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
address a safety concern
Most helpful review

Bad Service

Dollar Rent A Car - Bad Service
Dollar Rent A Car - Bad Service
I have been waiting in line for more than an hour there are 11 people in front of me, more than 20 behind me. One agent!!!! No way am I ever going to rent from Dollar again!!!!!!!

User's recommendation: Find another rental company.

View full review
Featured
ID
#3503908 Review #3503908 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Atlanta, Georgia

Need assistance

I need assistance and all the phone numbers are busy,need more employees,I cant talk with any representative
View full review
ID
#3582325 Review #3582325 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Río Grande, Puerto Rico
Preferred solution
Over charge on credit card

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
They charged me for insurance that I declined,and I did not realize it when I signed. They don't tell you that you can opt out of the gas fill by them or the toll pass rental. They don't tell you about any fee you can opt out of- they automatically just add it in. So I...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3581596 Review #3581596 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Pros
  • Close to airport
Cons
  • Hit you with false charges
  • Wrong vehicle in size terrible customer service
  • Deceptive business practices
Loss
$160
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Have called customer no service several times only to get the run around...car has a fualty tire that looks like the side wall was slammed into a curb...we have called numerous times and ge to hung up on before any resolution ...t he e front end shake at high way...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3573344 Review #3573344 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wildwood, Florida
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Double charged on credit card

Still no response issue still open need funds senior citizen retired military veteran officer very frustrated on booking easy then a Big issue getting a credit refund. Gregory Talarovich. 5/6/22. Please update me. Please contact me cell : 1-502-43****. E-Mail gatalarovich@***.com credit to American Express card number 372244****41006 exp 01/27
View full review
ID
#3548647 Review #3548647 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Louisville, Kentucky
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

I didn’t talk with customer service

I rent i car at MCO airport but the reservation say that i will pick up the car at 11:30am but i will be at the airport at 10 pm
View full review
ID
#3545385 Review #3545385 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Juan, San Juan Municipio
New Reviewer

Didn’t solve issue

I was improperly charged for tolls on my Visa at gangster rates terrible customer service. Never again.

User's recommendation: Cancel visa after you leave airport.

View full review
ID
#3529547 Review #3529547 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saint Johns, Newfoundland And Labrador
Pros
  • Pricing
Cons
  • Toll road policy
  • Poor customer satisfaction rating
Loss
$89
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Deposit not return

My deposit is not return and DXB office is ignoring to respond I have been following up for the last month though phone call and email. At the beginning they informed me that the money will return in a week but now they are ignoring my phone calls and mails. My is is DA3S128922
View full review
ID
#3528996 Review #3528996 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Dollar Rent A Car Car Rental
Pros
  • Never will rent again
Cons
  • Failure to honor rate

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Charged $50 for canceling rental 4 months ahead of time

Need fax number of corporate customer service made reservation on 2/12/22 and upgraded on 4/21/22 paid both in full. Charged $50.00 for first canceled car. 1st thru Expedia. Second thru Orbitz. Canceled reservation 4 months before rental date of 9/12/22. Need credit to American Express card number 372244****41006 exp 01/27 Gregory Talarovich 76 years old retired military officer limited income. Please adjust $50.00 ASAP upgrade over $300.00 more than canceled reservation.
View full review
ID
#3526131 Review #3526131 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$50
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

More than 40 people waiting to. Be serviced at Orlando and no cars available I booked in advance tio avoid waiting time and we have about two hours waiting because there are no cars available

Now on April 30th more than 50 people waiting for a car since 11:30 pm on 29th. Front desk people just disappeared.

User's recommendation: Keep your people o The front desk.

View full review
ID
#3525003 Review #3525003 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

No Action Taken After I complained that Dollar stole $103.53 from me.

Update by user Apr 21, 2022

Nothing else to add to this sad story!

Update by user Apr 21, 2022

Already said

Update by user Apr 21, 2022

No action after I asked for refund of a non disclosed FUEL PURCHASE OPTION charge.

Original review posted by user Apr 21, 2022
No Action Taken After I complained that Dollar stole $103.53 from me. I was never informed that thre was a charge associated with the FUEL PURCHASE OPTION even though I returned the car with a full (overflowing) tank of gas.

User's recommendation: Return the car after you fill the tank up. Don't bu the FUEL PURCHASE OPTION from the dollar crooks.

View full review
ID
#3505094 Review #3505094 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Dollar Rent A Car Car Rental
Pros
  • Rented me a car
Cons
  • Hit you with false charges
Loss
$104
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
Rented car at ATL airport in 4/12/22 . Partially paid for it ahead of time. Owes 73$ at pick up. Got schemed into adding my husband as an extra driver . Should have said no. Thought it was free. Nope!!! 12$ extra a day which added up to almost another 70$. Why wouldnt...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3504624 Review #3504624 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Shoreham, New York
Pros
  • Rented me a car
Cons
  • See review
Loss
$70
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Unpaid ticket

Yes I called almost 2 weeks regarding an unpaid ticket and I got transferred to payments was told that I will receive a call back and never got the call , now each time I try and call back the line is either busy or keeps hanging up and I really just want to pay the ticket off to avoid any problems in the the future
View full review
ID
#3468909 Review #3468909 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Nassau, New Providence District
Preferred solution
I’ll like to be contacted by phone from payments to have this dealt with

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Need a refund

I need to show proof of insurance and no one will answer the phone. Terrible customer service. He made us take our insurance even though we have it and we had to prove it to them and now no one will answer any phones

User's recommendation: Don’t rent from them if they don’t have human context.

View full review
ID
#3465392 Review #3465392 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Refund

I RETAL A CAR TROUGHT PRICELINE WITH DOLLAR RENTAL AND FOR FAMILY PROBLEMS I CANCEL AND I WOULD LIKE MY MONEY BACK AT MY CREDICT CARD OR A CREDIT PLS HELP ME

User's recommendation: No rental through them.

View full review
ID
#3397062 Review #3397062 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
New Reviewer
We rented a car on line for our four day vacation. We went thru orbitz and were given dollar rental car reserving a managers choice four door intermediate car. We reserved it for February 12. We flew into Sacramento airport on the 10th. Initially we paid 189.00 and had...
View full review
View full review
3 comments
#2144377

You showed up two days early and expected a car? In the end it was $120 extra. What’s the problem?

View more comments
ID
#3391334 Review #3391334 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Clermont, Georgia
Cons
  • Poor customer service
  • Poor quality vehicle
  • Service and overcharging
Loss
$120
Preferred solution
Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article